Intermediate - Note Numbers

When you play a major scale, (you know, do re me fa so la ti do) you see that there are 8 notes. The first note and the last note are both ďdoĒ and even though they are officially an octave apart, for the sake of this lesson, letís just call them the same. So that leaves us with 7 notes. When referring to a chord or a scale these notes are simply called 1 thru 7.

Take this C Major scale for example.


1      2      3      4      5      6      7       1

C      D      E      F      G      A      B      C



The most important thing to get from this is that chords and scales commonly replace their note letters for numbers to more easily explain the intervals from note to note. It's like a template you can lay over any chord or scale to get the same results. These numbers help spell out the chord in any key.

For Example:

All major chords have the same 3 notes, a 1, 3 and 5. So if you were to spell a CMaj chord you would take the 1, 3 and 5 of the C major scale which is C, E and G. If you were to spell a CMaj7 chord it would be 1, 3, 5 and 7 or C, E, G and B.

To play a G7 arpeggio in C you would play 5, 7, 2 and 4. This last one might seem a bit out of place, but let me assure you itís not. It is just the diatonic chord at the 5th position (yeah, number 5) in the C Major scale.

To learn more please schedule a lesson through

Faymous Music at 262.376.7688 and say you want to take lessons from Jeff.